Return to Blogging

I have decided to end my blogging hiatus and return to TeacherNextDoor.  Thank you for your patience.  I hope that you are ready to return, as well!  If you are a teacher and have ever changed schools, especially if you have moved to a school that operates quite differently from your previous one, you may have some idea of why my break from blogging was so extended.  At first it was just a whirlwind.  Then, when the dust settled, it turned out that it was a whirlwind that deposited me in a territory that required a change in my general operating mode.  That new mode did not include blogging, but now that it is no longer new and I feel like I have my feet under me a little bit more, I am ready to return.

For a while, I don’t think that I realized that I missed this place.  I knew something was missing, but I didn’t know that I had left it behind here.  Firstly, I need the consistency it brings to my reflection practice and my writing practice.  A line from Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr. (also found in the right-hand column of this page) embodies some of my intentions for starting and now continuing this work: “I talk half the time to find out my own thoughts, as a school-boy turns his pockets inside out to see what is in them. One brings to light all sorts of personal property he had forgotten in his inventory.” On top of a reflective writing practice, though, I also desire the community that comes with it.  I have begun a slow return to Goodreads and hope that my return to the blog will also help me return to the education-based professional development on twitter.  Perhaps you will join me?

I would like you to know that I have actually written you many, perhaps even hundreds, of posts in these years where the blog has lain fallow.  Unfortunately, they were composed entirely in my head driving to and from work, in the shower, trying to fall asleep at night, and so forth.  I do not remember them, but I am pretty sure they were insightful, well-written, practical, actionable, and everything else you would want out of a post. 🙂 For now, I am excited to share what I have learned and what I am learning as we move forward together once again.

Leave a Reply

