Spring and Poetry in the Classroom

Spring has hit full force here in Georgia.  The highs have been hitting in the 80s nearly every day this week!  Along with a pretty yellow coating for all of our cars and shoes, Spring has also gifted us with fever in the classroom.   Teachers feverishly try to get everything done that they have been hoping to accomplish this year and students wait feverishly for the coming summer break.

 

I like to follow Robert Lee Brewer’s blog,Poetic Asides, over at Writer’s Digest.  He posts poetry prompts on Wednesdays which I occasionally try out.  Yesterday’s writing suggestion was simply on the general theme of Spring.  I through my own contribution into the mix on his blog and would like to share it with you here, as well.  As of now, my efforts are still rough and untitled, but I am always open to suggestion (kind, well-intentioned)!

 

Pencils flying

Erasers arcing in air as they

Drum drum drum on the desk.

 

 

Birds peek in

Watching my lesson

Forgetting there is glass.

Students stare back at them

Forgetting there is class.

 

 

In our worn texts,

Winter marks

The ending of days.

In school,

Spring marks time.

 

 

And now, for some supplementary thoughts on poetry, and teachers’ writings in the classroom:

 

A hard lesson for me to learn was that my own writing does not need to be perfect or professionally published for me to share it with my students.  They need to see my enthusiasm for the practice.  They need to see that it has a place in my world outside the classroom.  They need to see that even teachers have room for revision.

 

Participating in a blog such as Poetic Asides helps provide me with some structure for my own practice.  In April, Brewer will be challenging his readers to compose a poem a day.  I am hoping to be an active participant in this challenge and hope you will join me.  Yes, it will be tough! But, it could also be remarkable for your own writing practice and the role that practice and poetry in general might take on in your classroom.

 

I have never been fortuntate enough to particpate in a NWP program, but I am ever hopeful that I will still have the chane one day.  In the meantime, I will keep bringing my meager offerings to the table, that they may grow and improve and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

